Argentina

The rest of Rosario, in a nutsell

Dale chicos, we have a lot to get through. I am writing this from Ushuaia, the End of the World, and I still have to tell you guys about the rest of my time in Rosario, and my four days in Buenos Aires, and my five days in Puerto Madryn, and the road trip through Patagonia, and Ushuaia, before I leave for El Calafate, and Chile, and Lollapalooza (eeek!).

The view from the roof of Spanish in Rosario - coffee and cigarette and mental prep every morning before classes start

The view from the roof of Spanish in Rosario – coffee and cigarette and mental prep every morning before classes start

Marcela - fabulous

Marcela – fabulous

Fede and Sabrina - fabulous

Fede and Sabrina – fabulous

I was in Rosario for a month and I attended Spanish school for three hours every day. The lessons were hugely helpful and I can say some key things now. I’ve managed to have whole conversations with (patient) people who speak no English, and often it’s a mix between charades and infinitive verbs. I’m getting there. Slowly. Right now I’m focusing on feeling the rhythm of the language and listening to people speak, and secretly hope that I will just wake up one morning and understand everything. I must say, it’s steadily improving. I seem to understand mas o menos whole conversations, but I need an inordinate amount of time to wrap my head around what’s been said and then formulate a response. By the time I’m ready to respond, they’ve already moved on.

Spanish in Rosario is a really great institution and I definitely recommend them to anyone in the area! Met some very cool people here. I took a 35-minute walk there every day through a gorgeous tree-lined avenue of which I have not one photograph. Go figure, sheez.

rosario 2 (9) rosario 2 (10)

Rosario is the birthplace of Ernesto “Che” Guevara. I found the monument dedicated to him, eventually … It’s kind of hidden away in an unlikely, farflung area of the city. The statue was forged out of molten bronze keys.

rosario 2 (8) rosario 2 (14)

Andres took me to the lightshow in the park. The show’s soundtrack was the music of Queen, so I enjoyed that. Afterwards we checked out some Uruguayan music and performance at the art gallery. It featured a group of very talented a cappella singers who were doing politically charged comedic songs … I think. Something about a brown potato? They were very, very good.

rosario 2 (11)

Museums and art galleries, obviously. I’ll put some art pieces in a separate post.

Some kind of hair ornament from long ago. Pen for scale

Some kind of hair ornament from long ago. Pen for scale

Look at these awesome bombillas for mate! Want want want!

rosario 2 (12)

Argentina got its name from the Latin word for silver: argentum. It’s a big deal.

rosario 2 (15)

The city has well preserved turn of the century colonial architecture (I just made that up) so it’s very pretty and very Argentinian.

rosario 2 (2) rosario 2 (18)

And it’s home to the Argentinian flag, with a big badass phallic monument dedicated to it. I’ve noticed that all towns and cities sport a number of massive, like really really big, flags.

rosario 2 (5) rosario 2 (22)

I also visited an island right across the river from Rosario, on a quiet, hot Friday, and it was almost tropical. Warm water, beach for miles, a quick escape from the urban sprawl. Bee-you-tiful.

Purely to show off the tan

Purely to show off the tan

rosario 2 (17)
Rosario even has its own little cataratas (waterfall) – though it’s a pretty dodge area. Andres and Avril took me to go see it a couple of days before I left. Locals fish here for food.

Gorgeous parks everywhere. In Rosario and beyond. Huge municipal investment

Gorgeous parks everywhere. In Rosario and beyond. Huge municipal investment

rosario 2 (3)

IMG_0008 (1024x576)

And that’s Rosario in a nutshell. Four weeks in one place was a little too long, I think. I needed the Spanish but I had already adopted the rhythm of the road and it was a little jarring to have to settle for four weeks. As a result I just took it very easy and conducted thought experiments about what it would be like to buy a little old rundown place, spruce it up, be fluent in Spanish, work and live in the city … Tempting.

IMG_0099 (1024x576)

5 thoughts on “The rest of Rosario, in a nutsell

  1. Pingback: Seen and heard and done in Buenos Aires | cape/caracas

  2. Looks great! Tell me, having concentrated on intense Spanish lessons there, do you think that the little you had learned here helped in any way? Or would it have been the same if you started there as an absolute beginner?

    • Stubomb! The early work definitely helped flesh out my vocabulary somewhat, but that’s pretty much the extent of it. I found it didn’t really help comprehension as much as, it helped expression, if you follow? The Rosario course also moved much faster, so in just a day or two we covered pretty much everything I learnt on Duolingo. I’ve also been using Memrise a little bit in my free time to learn more verbs. VERBS. Learn the verbs.

      • Ah, I suspected that might be the case. I want to prep for travels, but reckon there’s not too much point until closer to the time, and doing concentrated, crash-course-style stuff rather. That seems to have worked out well for you, judging by all the Spanish chatter on Facebook 🙂 Gracias!

  3. Pingback: A tale of three cities in the Bolivian southwest | cape/caracas

Leave a Reply

