Argentina

Basically Bahia Blanca

My time in Bahia Blanca was short – one night – and hardly deserving of a post of its own, except for two things: 1) This is were I met Nikki the ‘Merican (fluent in Spanish with a raging sense of humour … miss her already), who would be my travelling buddy for the next couple of weeks, and B) this is where I started taking photographs of photographs – something people seem to be enjoying on Facebook. You can check out the public Google album here, and I’ve posted a couple of my favourites in this post.

First thing I noticed was this graffiti on the street leading into the plaza. Hugo Chavez died the day before, but I’m not sure whether this was new paint or not. Either way, it was pretty interesting. A friend at the hostel in Buenos Aires was Venezuelan, and I asked him whether Chavez’s death spelled more trouble for them. “Mas problemas para tus gentes?” (More problems for your people?) “Siiiiii” came his very somber response. Seriously hope this doesn’t fuck with my chances of getting to Caracas; I mean, would I have to change the title of this blog to “Cape to Almost Caracas”? I don’t think so, buddy.

bahia banca chavez

I pissed off the people at the hostel to no end by leaving my backpack in the room even though I had checked out; rookie error, felt bad for hours.

bahia blanca (13) bahia blanca (14) bahia blanca

Bahia Blanca is not kak, I guess, but it ain’t all that. Although it’s on the coast there’s no chance of putting your feet in the sand – you have to travel somewhat for that – and I think that’s what compelled me to keep truckin’. It’s a fairly industrialised city, with some pretty parts that Nikki and I walked through after visiting a number of rather charming museums.

bahia blanca (1)

Old-timey record player

Old-timey record player

Reminded me of Celeste

Reminded me of Celeste

No digital re-dos

No digital re-dos

Fernet!

Fernet!

bahia blanca (6)

"The lesson enters through blood" - loved this; it's one of the first phrases Francisco of Corrientes taught me, and everyone since had no clue of the existence of the phrase, and then I saw it in a museum miles and miles away!

“The lesson enters through blood” – loved this; it’s one of the first phrases Francisco of Corrientes taught me, and everyone since had no clue of the existence of the phrase, and then I saw it in a museum miles and miles away!

Shem

Shem

Closeup shem

Closeup shem

bahia blanca (10)

Just love this. I don't know why ... The simplicity of the composition, black and white. Love

Just love this. I don’t know why … The simplicity of the composition, black and white. Love

I laughed

I laughed

I felt so embarrassed about the backpack that I left for the bus terminal about five hours before my bus was to depart. A stray dog followed me to and into the terminal (I had cheese and ham on me – staple diet in these parts; so much for the carb fast) and stared me down for the duration of my wait. Dogs without homes are a noticeable problem here. But anyway, you gotta love a bus terminal that plays Pearl Jam over the intercom! One and a half weeks and counting to Lollapalooza as I write this.

Leave a Reply

